The euro coin series comprises eight different denominations: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cent, €1 and €2. One euro is made up of 100 cents. 

The euro coins have a common side and a national side. The national side indicates the issuing country.

Common sides

The common sides of the coins were designed by Mr Luc Luycx of the Royal Belgian Mint. The common sides of the euro coins show three different maps of Europe, with a background including the 12 stars of the European Union.

The design of the common sides of the 10, 20 and 50 cent and 1- and 2-euro coins has been modified during 2007 to reflect the enlargement of the EU in 2004. The new common designs are being introduced progressively as from 2007, and will become mandatory for all new coin production from 2008.

Images of the common sides

National sides

The national sides show country-specific designs, surrounded by the 12 stars of the European Union.

Images of the national sides of euro coins


While the Eurosystem is responsible for issuing banknotes, the euro area countries are responsible for issuing coins. Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican City are also entitled to issue limited quantities of their own euro coins through agreements with the EU.