

### Third ECB Central Banking Conference

## The new EU Member States: convergence and stability

Thursday, 21 and Friday, 22 October 2004

# preliminary programme



### Thursday, 21 October 2004

Afternoon: Opening address:

Mr Lucas Papademos

Vice-President, European Central Bank

Session 1:

The economic and structural transformation of the new EU Member States

Chair:

Mr Eugenio Domingo Solans

Member of the Executive Board until 31 May 2004,

European Central Bank

Main Speaker:

Mr Gerard Roland

CEPR Programme Director on Institutions and Economic Performance,

University of California, Berkeley

Discussants:

Mr Klaus Liebscher

Governor Austrian National Bank and

N.N.

Dinner address:

Mr Tommaso Padoa-Schioppa

Member of the Executive Board, European Central Bank

### Friday, 22 October 2004

Morning: Session 2:

International linkages and the macroeconomic performance of

the new EU Member States

Chair:

Mrs Gertrude Tumpel-Gugerell

Member of the Executive Board, European Central Bank

Main Speaker:

Mr Douglas Laxton

International Monetary Fund

Discussants:

Mr Nicholas C. Garganas

Governor, Bank of Greece and

Mr Frank Smets

European Central Bank

Session 3:

Macroeconomic adjustment in the new EU Member States

Chair:

Mr José Manuel González-Páramo

Member of the Executive Board as from 1 June 2004, European Central Bank

Main Speaker:

Mr Jürgen von Hagen

Director of Centre for European Integration Studies, University of Bonn

Discussants:

Mr Zsigmond Járai

President, National Bank of Hungary and

N.N.

Afternoon: Session 4:

**Policy Panel** 

Chair:

Mr Willem F. Duisenberg

Former President of the European Central Bank

Introduction:

Mr Otmar Issing

Member of the Executive Board, European Central Bank

Panelists:

Mr Leszek Balcerowicz

President, National Bank of Poland

Mr Zdeněk Tůma

Governor, Czech National Bank

Mr Joaquín Almunia

Member of the European Commission (tbc)

Mr Vítor Constâncio

Governor, Bank of Portugal

Mr Jens Thomsen

Member of the Board of Governors, National Bank of Denmark

Closing address:

Mr Jean-Claude Trichet

President of the European Central Bank